Baked Onions with Blue Cheese

20140126-104945.jpg

Get ready. You’re going to see a lot of blue cheese in here over the next year. The other day on my way home from work I stopped for groceries and bought a container of blue cheese. No plans for it, just thought I should have it. Then once I got home I realized all I wanted for dinner was some sort of food vessel that would get this cheese from counter to stomach. Pronto.

Lucky I have all these onions sitting around.

20140126-105020.jpg

Just chop ’em up.

20140126-105013.jpg

Put them in a baking pan.

20140126-105006.jpg

Mix up blue cheese, butter, parsley, milk, and Worcestershire sauce.

20140126-104958.jpg

Smother them onions, bake for 30 min at at 400 degrees and you’re good. And IT’S good.

Baked Onions with Blue Cheese

Ingredients:

3 large onions (recipe I’d found suggested Vidalia, but I had white)
8 ounces crumbled blue cheese
1 tablespoon milk
3 tablespoons butter, softened
2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
1/3  cup chopped fresh parsley (I didn’t have it)
1/4 teaspoon ground pepper

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Lightly grease 9″ x 13″ baking dish, set aside. Slice onions lengthwise, about 8 wedges each, put in dish. In a bowl, combine cheese, milk, butter, Worcestershire sauce, parsley, and ground pepper. Spoon over onions. Bake for about 30 minutes or until brown and bubbly.

Original recipe here.

One thought on “Baked Onions with Blue Cheese”

Leave a Reply

